Live editorial feed · checked twice daily

Live AI News & Updates

The important model launches, product changes, research, policy and business moves—verified, summarised in plain English and linked to the original sources.

Last updated2 September 2026
18:14 BST
Next scheduled check3 September 2026
11:00 BST
Editorial standardPrimary sources first
No rumours or filler

Latest verified updates

What changed in AI

Coverage window: 31 August–2 September 2026 · evening edition

Latest check: Six verified developments added across model releases, copyright policy, AI safety litigation, enterprise AI, infrastructure and multilingual translation. The G20 policy story was materially updated; no correction was required. Company benchmarks, deployment figures and performance claims are identified as such.
2 Sep 2026Released 16:00 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
Models & cybersecurity

Google releases Gemini 3.8 Flash and gates its cyber variant

Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash through its developer, enterprise and consumer products at $0.75 per million input tokens and $3.75 per million output tokens. It also introduced Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber through the limited Fairwind programme for governments and vetted partners. Google’s coding, vulnerability-discovery and automated-patching comparisons are internal company tests rather than independent validation.

Why it matters: A broadly available lower-cost model and a restricted cyber model arriving together sharpen both the price race and the debate over controlled access to dual-use capabilities.

2 Sep 2026Reported 15:54 BST
Filing dated 1 Sep
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
Copyright & policy

US government backs fair-use treatment for AI training in OpenAI copyright case

The US Justice Department filed a statement of interest in consolidated copyright litigation against OpenAI, arguing that copying written works for model training is highly transformative and can qualify as fair use. It separately says outputs that reconstruct protected works can raise different legal questions. The government is not a party, the filing is advisory and the court has not ruled on the merits.

Why it matters: The filing puts an explicit federal legal position behind model developers on a central unresolved issue in AI copyright litigation.

2 Sep 2026Reported 15:52 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
AI safety & litigation

Thirty more Tumbler Ridge survivors and witnesses sue OpenAI

Thirty additional complaints by students, teachers, a principal and other people present during February’s Tumbler Ridge school shooting have been reported against OpenAI and Sam Altman, bringing the related US cases to 37. The plaintiffs allege negligence, product liability and aiding and abetting, and say the company failed to alert authorities after identifying violent account activity. OpenAI disputes allegations about its internal decision-making, and no court has ruled on liability.

Why it matters: The filings broaden the plaintiff group and intensify scrutiny of how chatbot providers identify, escalate and report threats of real-world violence.

2 Sep 2026Reported 14:16 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
Enterprise AI & funding

Wonderful raises $550 million at a $5 billion valuation

Wonderful closed a $550 million Series C led by Insight Partners, with Salesforce and existing investors participating, valuing the enterprise-AI company at $5 billion. Its platform is designed to coordinate agents, workflows and applications across existing enterprise systems. Wonderful says it has expanded to more than 35 markets and 650 employees since March; those operating figures are company-reported.

Why it matters: The round is a large bet that enterprises will buy a shared control layer for multiple models and agents rather than deploy isolated departmental tools.

2 Sep 2026Remarks reported 14:02 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Updated
Global AI policy

US makes fair use a concrete part of its G20 AI-policy pitch

At the G20 innovation ministerial, US Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick urged officials to embrace fair use for model training while finding a way to protect creators, without setting out a mechanism. Nvidia chief Jensen Huang separately argued that officials should focus on demonstrated real-world problems rather than theoretical harms. No joint commitment has been reported, so these remain negotiating positions rather than binding policy.

Why it matters: The remarks put copyright and access to training data at the centre of an international AI-governance debate ahead of the G20 leaders’ summit.

2 Sep 2026Announced 14:00 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
AI infrastructure & funding

iPronics raises $125 million to scale optical switching for AI clusters

Spain’s iPronics raised a $125 million Series B co-led by Maverick Silicon and Light Street Capital, with Nvidia participating, bringing disclosed funding to $177 million. The company is commercialising programmable optical circuit switches that can reroute links inside large AI clusters and says the financing will expand deployments and a new Santa Clara operation. Named customers were not disclosed, and claimed size, power and cost advantages have not been independently verified.

Why it matters: The financing targets networking resilience and bandwidth, which are becoming constraints alongside accelerator supply as AI clusters grow.

2 Sep 2026Launched 14:00 BST
Feed: 18:14 BST
Confirmed
Open models & multilingual AI

Tether launches local translation models for 19 African and nine European languages

Tether AI Research formally released its TranslatePsy family as downloadable models intended for local and offline translation. AfriSLM comes in 0.8-billion, 2-billion and 4-billion-parameter sizes for English paired with 19 Sub-Saharan African languages; AfriNano covers eight African languages and EuroNano covers nine European languages. The weights and code use Apache 2.0, while reported benchmark wins rely on automatic metrics rather than expert human evaluation.

Why it matters: The release expands deployable machine translation for languages often underserved by cloud AI and targets use on resource-constrained devices.

2 Sep 2026Confirmed 09:05 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Chips & supply chains

Taiwan tallies another $20 billion of planned US chip and AI-server investment

Taiwan’s Ministry of Economic Affairs says a fresh industry survey identified another $20 billion of planned US investment by Taiwanese companies, after roughly 20 semiconductor and AI-server firms reported $35 billion of plans in May. Economy Minister Kung Ming-hsin linked the new interest to stronger AI and chip orders at the SEMICON Taiwan trade show. The ministry did not identify the companies, projects, schedules or contractual commitments, so the figure is a planning estimate rather than deployed capital.

Why it matters: The survey signals a further geographic shift in the semiconductor and AI-server supply chain towards US production.

2 Sep 2026Published 03:29 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
AI law & elections

Brazil’s top electoral court narrows when its deepfake ban applies

Brazil’s Superior Electoral Court ruled 5–2 that a prohibited election deepfake must be AI-produced or manipulated content with sufficient realism or plausibility and must qualify as electoral advertising. In a related 4–3 ruling, it rejected a penalty over an AI recreation of former president Jair Bolsonaro shown at a party convention, finding that an online convention broadcast does not by itself turn an internal statement of support into premature electoral advertising. The resulting legal test is intended to guide similar cases and does not create general permission for synthetic campaign media.

Why it matters: The ruling sets a practical boundary for Brazil’s strict synthetic-media rules only weeks before the October election.

2 Sep 2026Passed 01:21 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
AI infrastructure policy

Brazil’s Congress sends a data-centre tax-incentive regime to Lula

Brazil’s Senate approved PL 278/2026 without substantive amendments, completing congressional passage of the REDATA regime and sending it for presidential assent. The proposal would suspend specified federal taxes on eligible data-centre equipment for five years and expressly covers cloud computing, high-performance computing, AI training and inference. Beneficiaries would have to reserve at least 10% of effective capacity for Brazil, invest 2% of incentivised purchases domestically and meet energy and water-efficiency conditions; the measure is not yet law.

Why it matters: Brazil is linking tax relief for AI compute to domestic capacity, research investment and resource-efficiency obligations.

1 Sep 2026Published 22:39 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Research & model evaluation

Ai2 releases BenchMIRT to audit what benchmark questions actually measure

Ai2 released BenchMIRT, a multidimensional item-response method that examines model results prompt by prompt instead of treating each benchmark as a single score. Trained on results from 100 language models across 16 benchmarks and more than 34,000 questions, it recovered safety and general reasoning as distinct dimensions and found that some nominal safety tasks depend heavily on reasoning. Ai2 says a selected 10% of questions often retained the broad capability picture, but the study covers only models released by March 2025 and the dimensions it recovers depend on the chosen benchmark set.

Why it matters: The method can expose mixed signals and redundant questions before leaderboard scores are used to support model-performance or safety claims.

1 Sep 2026Nvidia confirmed 22:19 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Cybersecurity agents

CrowdStrike and Nvidia introduce SafeMind’s paired offensive and defensive agents

CrowdStrike introduced SafeMind, pairing its Red Tempest offensive model and Blue Solano defensive model with agent harnesses that run repeated attack-and-defence exercises in controlled environments. The system uses Nvidia Nemotron components and CrowdStrike threat and incident-response data, and is intended to run inside Falcon while standalone models and harnesses are reserved for trusted access through Project QuiltWorks. CrowdStrike’s detection, remediation and cost comparisons come from internal evaluations and have not been independently validated.

Why it matters: SafeMind moves security automation towards continuous red-team and blue-team agent loops, making access control around offensive capability central to deployment.

1 Sep 2026Reported 21:30 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
AI servers & infrastructure

Dell reports a $95 billion AI-server backlog and raises its annual forecast

Dell reported $60.9 billion of AI-server orders and $16.4 billion of AI-server revenue in its fiscal second quarter, ending the period with a $95 billion backlog. It raised expected full-year AI-optimised-server revenue from $60 billion to $74 billion and total revenue guidance from $167 billion to $192 billion. The quarterly figures are unaudited, the backlog is not recognised revenue and the forecasts remain company guidance.

Why it matters: Dell’s results provide a large, concrete indicator of demand flowing from AI labs and cloud providers into physical compute infrastructure.

1 Sep 2026Announced 21:05 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Enterprise AI & cybersecurity

Palo Alto Networks buys Console to add agentic workflows to Cortex

Palo Alto Networks completed its acquisition of Console, an AI-native platform for building natural-language workflows that investigate signals, prioritise work and trigger actions. The company says Console will be integrated into Cortex to support more agentic security operations. Financial terms, the integration timetable and present general availability were not disclosed, and Palo Alto Networks cautions that referenced unreleased features may change or not ship.

Why it matters: The deal shows a major security vendor consolidating agentic operations directly into a core enterprise platform.

1 Sep 2026Confirmed 21:00 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Frontier safety & cybersecurity

OpenAI classifies forthcoming Astra at its first “Critical” cyber threshold

OpenAI says its unreleased Astra model is the first system it has classified at the Critical cybersecurity level under its Preparedness Framework, firming up the possibility it disclosed in August. In internal evaluations, Astra reportedly found previously unknown flaws and assembled exploit chains, but those capability and safeguard results have not been independently reproduced. OpenAI says release is coming “soon”; advanced cyber use will first be limited to selected testers before defensive access expands through Daybreak Blue.

Why it matters: This is OpenAI’s first disclosed activation of its highest cyber-capability controls for a model heading towards release.

1 Sep 2026Reported 20:39 BST
Feed: 11:22 BST
Confirmed
Models & APIs

Anthropic broadens Claude Fable 5.1 while reserving Mythos 5.1 for vetted access

Anthropic released Claude Fable 5.1 across Claude, its API and major cloud platforms, while limiting the less-restrictive Mythos 5.1 configuration of the same underlying model to vetted cybersecurity and life-science organisations. Fable keeps base prices of $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, while cache reads fall 75% to $0.25 per million tokens. Anthropic reports stronger coding and research performance and fewer safeguard false positives, but those benchmark and safety results are company evaluations.

Why it matters: The release combines broader frontier-model access and lower costs for long-running agents with explicit gating for higher-risk cyber and biology work.

1 Sep 2026Published 17:00 BST
Feed: 18:12 BST
Confirmed
Productivity & image generation

Google begins rolling out Pics, its collaborative AI image editor

Google began rolling out Pics, a Nano Banana-powered app for creating and editing images, to Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers and most Workspace business customers over the coming weeks. It supports object-level transformations, targeted edits, in-image text editing and translation, multiple prompt outputs and shared editing. Integration with Docs and Slides starts today, while Drive support is due in the coming weeks.

Why it matters: Google is moving generative image work into the same collaborative environment that many teams already use for documents and presentations.

1 Sep 2026Announced 16:04 BST
Feed: 18:12 BST
Confirmed
Agents & privacy

Perplexity adds hybrid local-cloud processing to Computer on Mac

Perplexity released Hybrid Compute for its Mac app, allowing a Computer task to begin in the cloud and route sensitive steps or private-file work to a model running locally on Apple silicon. An on-device Privacy Gate is designed to identify and mask personal information before transmission, but the classifier can miss content and should not be treated as a blanket privacy guarantee. Perplexity also released the roughly 600-million-parameter PII classifier under the MIT licence; access to the app feature varies by plan and hardware.

Why it matters: The architecture offers a practical way to combine cloud agents with local processing when workflows involve confidential files or personal data.

1 Sep 2026Published 15:49 BST
Feed: 18:12 BST
Confirmed
AI governance & safety

Microsoft details a re-engineered AI governance standard for agentic systems

Microsoft published its 2026 Responsible AI Transparency Report and said it has re-engineered its internal Responsible AI Standard for models, platform services and applications. The revised structure separates developer and deployer duties, distinguishes core from scenario-specific requirements, and adds controls for agent identities, permissions, tool access and post-release monitoring. Microsoft also reports expanded threat modelling, evaluation and prompt-injection defences; these are the company’s own governance disclosures.

Why it matters: The framework shows how one major AI provider is adapting oversight from standalone models to agents that can use tools and take multi-step actions.

1 Sep 2026Reported 15:00 BST
Feed: 18:12 BST
Confirmed
Autonomous vehicles

Waymo begins public robotaxi rides in Denver, San Diego and Tampa

Waymo began inviting members of the public to take fully autonomous rides in Denver, San Diego and Tampa, bringing its commercial service to 14 cities. Access is rolling out steadily rather than opening to everyone at once, and riders join through the Waymo app. The company says initial service areas will expand as more riders and vehicles are added.

Why it matters: Launching three cities together tests whether driverless ride services can scale beyond a small number of established markets.

1 Sep 2026Published 12:39 BST
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
Models & enterprise AI

Flower Labs launches Endeavor 1.0 in a limited enterprise preview

Flower Labs introduced Endeavor 1.0, a general-purpose reasoning and coding model available by request to a limited group of organisations. Customers can use a Flower-managed service or arrange a licensed deployment inside infrastructure they control; the model weights have not been released publicly. Flower reports strong results on GPQA, HumanEval, AIME 2026 and IFEval, but these benchmarks are company claims without independent evaluation evidence.

Why it matters: The preview offers enterprises another route to deploy a high-capability model privately instead of relying only on a provider-hosted API.

1 Sep 2026Reported 12:18 BST
Filing dated 31 Aug
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
Law & trade secrets

Apple files new forensic allegations in its OpenAI trade-secret case

Apple told a California federal court that an initial forensic review of a former engineer’s returned MacBook found a confidential circuit file that it alleges he used after joining OpenAI. Apple asked for permission to supplement its request for expedited discovery and also alleged that related evidence was being destroyed. OpenAI disputes Apple’s broader case, and the judge has not ruled on these new allegations.

Why it matters: The dispute could test how AI hardware teams recruit specialists and protect confidential technical information when employees move between companies.

1 Sep 2026Published 11:40 BST
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
AI infrastructure & capital

SB Energy publicly files for a proposed Nasdaq listing

AI-infrastructure and power developer SB Energy publicly filed an S-1 for a proposed initial public offering. It applied to list as SBE on both the Nasdaq Global Select Market and Nasdaq Texas. The filing does not yet set a share count or price range, and the registration statement must become effective before an offering can proceed.

Why it matters: A completed listing would give public investors direct exposure to a company building the power and data-centre capacity behind large AI campuses.

1 Sep 2026Reported 02:57 BST
Post dated 31 Aug
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
AI safety & cybersecurity

Anthropic details pauses and stronger containment after agent incidents

Anthropic says it paused external cyber evaluations of pre-release models and briefly halted internal tests after July incidents exposed failures in third-party evaluation security. The company says internal and external testing has resumed with real-time blocking, stronger isolation and stricter partner procedures; most higher-risk reinforcement-learning environments have also restarted, while some remain paused for review. A planned independent review with METR has not yet been published.

Why it matters: The disclosure provides concrete examples of a frontier lab delaying evaluation and training work when its containment controls proved inadequate.

1 Sep 2026Availability confirmed Tuesday
Feed: 13:03 BST
Updated
AI business & advertising

OpenAI’s self-service ChatGPT ad expansion reaches the listed markets

OpenAI’s country guide now lists self-service Ads Manager access as available in India and the named European, Middle Eastern and North African markets, replacing the previous “coming soon” labels. The company announced the regional expansion on 31 August and reported a $1 billion annualized advertising revenue run rate—a measure of current pace, not revenue already earned. Eligibility still depends on country, and markets absent from the guide remain unavailable.

Why it matters: The completed availability update lets more advertisers manage campaigns directly instead of buying only through sales teams or partners.

1 Sep 2026Reported overnight
Feed: 13:03 BST
Developing
AI infrastructure

Reuters and AFP report a $35 billion Anthropic–Lambda compute agreement

Reuters and AFP separately report that Anthropic agreed to buy $35 billion of computing capacity from Nvidia-backed cloud provider Lambda, citing unnamed sources familiar with the deal. AFP describes the agreement as running for six years, while Reuters says the capacity is intended to meet demand for Claude. Anthropic, Lambda, Nvidia and data-centre developer Hut 8 had not publicly confirmed the reported terms when checked.

Why it matters: If confirmed, the agreement would be another exceptionally large, long-term commitment to the computing infrastructure required to train and operate frontier models.

31 Aug 2026Passed Monday night
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
Child safety & regulation

California sends a new child-safety chatbot bill to the governor

California lawmakers passed Senate Bill 1119, known as Adam’s Law, by votes of 39–0 in the Senate and 64–4 in the Assembly. The bill would require measures including age assurance, risk assessments, parental controls, independent audits and limits on targeted advertising to children. OpenAI publicly backed the measure and urged Governor Gavin Newsom to sign it; the bill is not yet law.

Correction: An earlier version of this update labelled the vote 1 September; the Legislature passed the bill on 31 August.

Why it matters: If signed, the measure would impose new design and accountability duties on companion-chatbot services used by children in California.

31 Aug 2026Published 18:31 BST
Feed: 13:03 BST
Confirmed
AI infrastructure & finance

Nscale closes roughly $3 billion of debt for two US AI campuses

Nscale announced secured delayed-draw loan commitments totalling approximately $3 billion for AI deployments in Texas and North Carolina. The company says the facilities will fund GPUs, networking, storage, cooling and site work, with J.P. Morgan and Goldman Sachs among the arrangers. These are financing commitments and planned capacity, not computing systems already deployed.

Why it matters: The deal shows specialist AI-cloud growth being financed as project debt tied to specific campuses and equipment.

31 Aug 2026Launches announced Monday
Feed: 18:18 BST
Confirmed
Government AI

Pentagon adds ChatGPT Mil and Grok to its GenAI.mil platform

The Pentagon announced that OpenAI’s ChatGPT Mil and Starshield AI’s Grok for Government launched on GenAI.mil on 31 August. The department says both are accredited at Impact Level 5 to handle controlled unclassified information. It describes uses including document analysis, planning, administration and procurement support; these announcements do not establish deployment in classified systems.

Why it matters: The launches turn supplier partnerships into services that government personnel can use within a defined information-security scope.

31 Aug 2026Published 14:29 BST
Feed: 18:18 BST
Confirmed
Enterprise AI & agents

Broadcom combines private-cloud AI tools with new agent controls

Broadcom announced VMware Private AI Cloud, bringing together Cloud Foundation infrastructure, AI deployment automation, validated models and agent-governance tools. AgentMinder is available now, with controls intended to restrict which enterprise resources an agent can use. Other announced capabilities, including Tanzu agent sandboxes and an AI gateway, are planned for later in 2026.

Why it matters: Enterprises gain a more integrated set of tools for operating AI on private infrastructure and controlling agents’ access to business systems.

How this feed works

Primary sources first, hype filtered out

Each scheduled run checks official announcements, release notes, research, regulatory records and reputable original reporting. We write independent summaries and distinguish company claims from independently verified facts.

Publishing rules

  • No unsupported rumours
  • No copied article text
  • No filler when nothing material changed
  • Corrections are labelled, not hidden
Updated at 11:00 and 18:00 Europe/London time. Links open the original source in a new tab. This page provides news summaries, not financial, legal or safety advice.