Live AI News & Updates
The important model launches, product changes, research, policy and business moves—verified, summarised in plain English and linked to the original sources.
11:21 BST
18:00 BST
No rumours or filler
OpenAI says Astra underwent a confidential US government review
OpenAI CEO Sam Altman told Axios that the Trump administration reviewed the forthcoming Astra model under a voluntary pre-release process. The government has not published the framework or the review outcome, so the disclosure is not a public approval or an independent safety finding. OpenAI previously classified Astra at its first Critical cybersecurity threshold and says advanced cyber access will initially be restricted; its capability and safeguard results remain company assessments.
Why it matters: The disclosure is a concrete example of frontier-model oversight operating through a confidential, voluntary process rather than a public regulatory review.
Snowflake raises its outlook as it says AI products accelerate consumption
Snowflake reported fiscal second-quarter product revenue of $1.49 billion, up 37% year over year, and raised its fiscal-2027 product-revenue guidance from $5.84 billion to $6.07 billion. The company said CoCo averaged more than 9,100 weekly accounts and CoWork 5,800 during the quarter’s final four weeks; Reuters separately reported that its CEO attributed roughly half of the growth acceleration to AI offerings. The adoption figures and growth attribution are company metrics, while the outlook is a forecast.
Why it matters: The results offer a measurable, though company-reported, indication that enterprise AI features are translating into consumption revenue for a major data platform.
G20 ministers adopt flexible AI-policy principles without a shared fair-use rule
G20 innovation ministers adopted a consensus statement and the Carolina Principles after their Chapel Hill meeting. They backed adaptable, proportionate policy, use of existing sector rules where those can address risks, and new measures focused on technology-specific gaps. On copyright, the statement recognises both creators’ protections and jurisdiction-specific consent, limitations and exceptions; it does not endorse the US proposal to classify model training as fair use, and the principles do not bind national governments.
Why it matters: The agreement turns the US-hosted talks into a multilateral policy outcome while showing where consensus on AI copyright stops.
Microsoft reorganises reporting around “Agents and Infra” and will disclose Azure revenue
Beginning in fiscal 2027, Microsoft will replace its three reporting segments with two: Agents and Infra, and Devices and Consumer. It will disclose Azure revenue each quarter rather than only a growth rate; its restated presentation puts fiscal-2026 Azure revenue at $101.94 billion, including $29.42 billion in the fourth quarter. GitHub cloud, other developer cloud services and Security Copilot move out of the narrower Azure definition and into Microsoft 365 cloud, so future comparisons need to use the restated figures.
Why it matters: Investors will get a direct dollar measure of Microsoft’s core AI-cloud infrastructure, while the new structure makes agents an explicit organising principle for the business.
Broadcom reports $16.7 billion in quarterly AI-chip revenue
Broadcom reported fiscal third-quarter AI semiconductor revenue of $16.7 billion, up 221% year over year and 54% from the previous quarter. It forecasts $21.7 billion for the fourth quarter, while CEO Hock Tan separately projected about $115 billion for fiscal 2027 and roughly twice that for fiscal 2028. The fourth-quarter and longer-term figures are management forecasts, not realised or guaranteed sales.
Why it matters: The results provide a concrete measure of hyperscalers’ demand for custom accelerators and networking beyond general-purpose GPUs.
HPE reports a $6.8 billion AI-systems backlog and a new hyperscaler award
HPE reported $2.4 billion in new AI Systems orders and said that backlog rose to $6.8 billion at the end of its fiscal third quarter. After the quarter, HPE says it received a $3.5 billion inference-system award from an unnamed hyperscaler; the customer, deployment schedule and revenue timing were not disclosed. Its Cloud & AI segment recorded $9.0 billion of quarterly revenue, and the order and backlog figures are company-reported.
Why it matters: The backlog and award show demand for large AI systems spreading across server suppliers, while leaving execution and customer-concentration questions open.
Meta releases Muse Spark 1.3 for coding and long-running agent workflows
Meta released Muse Spark 1.3 in Muse Code and the Meta Model API for longer-horizon coding and agent work, including several workflows in one thread. Its higher “max reasoning” mode remains unavailable until additional safety testing finishes. Meta’s own comparisons say the model used about 20% fewer tool calls and 25% fewer tokens than Muse Spark 1.2; those are company-run evaluations rather than independent benchmarks.
Why it matters: The release pushes competition towards persistent, multi-workflow agents, while the staggered max-reasoning rollout shows safety review directly affecting availability.
Google releases Gemini 3.8 Flash and gates its cyber variant
Google released Gemini 3.8 Flash through its developer, enterprise and consumer products at $0.75 per million input tokens and $3.75 per million output tokens. It also introduced Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber through the limited Fairwind programme for governments and vetted partners. Google’s coding, vulnerability-discovery and automated-patching comparisons are internal company tests rather than independent validation.
Why it matters: A broadly available lower-cost model and a restricted cyber model arriving together sharpen both the price race and the debate over controlled access to dual-use capabilities.
US government backs fair-use treatment for AI training in OpenAI copyright case
The US Justice Department filed a statement of interest in consolidated copyright litigation against OpenAI, arguing that copying written works for model training is highly transformative and can qualify as fair use. It separately says outputs that reconstruct protected works can raise different legal questions. The government is not a party, the filing is advisory and the court has not ruled on the merits.
Why it matters: The filing puts an explicit federal legal position behind model developers on a central unresolved issue in AI copyright litigation.
Thirty more Tumbler Ridge survivors and witnesses sue OpenAI
Thirty additional complaints by students, teachers, a principal and other people present during February’s Tumbler Ridge school shooting have been reported against OpenAI and Sam Altman, bringing the related US cases to 37. The plaintiffs allege negligence, product liability and aiding and abetting, and say the company failed to alert authorities after identifying violent account activity. OpenAI disputes allegations about its internal decision-making, and no court has ruled on liability.
Why it matters: The filings broaden the plaintiff group and intensify scrutiny of how chatbot providers identify, escalate and report threats of real-world violence.
Wonderful raises $550 million at a $5 billion valuation
Wonderful closed a $550 million Series C led by Insight Partners, with Salesforce and existing investors participating, valuing the enterprise-AI company at $5 billion. Its platform is designed to coordinate agents, workflows and applications across existing enterprise systems. Wonderful says it has expanded to more than 35 markets and 650 employees since March; those operating figures are company-reported.
Why it matters: The round is a large bet that enterprises will buy a shared control layer for multiple models and agents rather than deploy isolated departmental tools.
iPronics raises $125 million to scale optical switching for AI clusters
Spain’s iPronics raised a $125 million Series B co-led by Maverick Silicon and Light Street Capital, with Nvidia participating, bringing disclosed funding to $177 million. The company is commercialising programmable optical circuit switches that can reroute links inside large AI clusters and says the financing will expand deployments and a new Santa Clara operation. Named customers were not disclosed, and claimed size, power and cost advantages have not been independently verified.
Why it matters: The financing targets networking resilience and bandwidth, which are becoming constraints alongside accelerator supply as AI clusters grow.
Tether launches local translation models for 19 African and nine European languages
Tether AI Research formally released its TranslatePsy family as downloadable models intended for local and offline translation. AfriSLM comes in 0.8-billion, 2-billion and 4-billion-parameter sizes for English paired with 19 Sub-Saharan African languages; AfriNano covers eight African languages and EuroNano covers nine European languages. The weights and code use Apache 2.0, while reported benchmark wins rely on automatic metrics rather than expert human evaluation.
Why it matters: The release expands deployable machine translation for languages often underserved by cloud AI and targets use on resource-constrained devices.
Taiwan tallies another $20 billion of planned US chip and AI-server investment
Taiwan’s Ministry of Economic Affairs says a fresh industry survey identified another $20 billion of planned US investment by Taiwanese companies, after roughly 20 semiconductor and AI-server firms reported $35 billion of plans in May. Economy Minister Kung Ming-hsin linked the new interest to stronger AI and chip orders at the SEMICON Taiwan trade show. The ministry did not identify the companies, projects, schedules or contractual commitments, so the figure is a planning estimate rather than deployed capital.
Why it matters: The survey signals a further geographic shift in the semiconductor and AI-server supply chain towards US production.
Brazil’s top electoral court narrows when its deepfake ban applies
Brazil’s Superior Electoral Court ruled 5–2 that a prohibited election deepfake must be AI-produced or manipulated content with sufficient realism or plausibility and must qualify as electoral advertising. In a related 4–3 ruling, it rejected a penalty over an AI recreation of former president Jair Bolsonaro shown at a party convention, finding that an online convention broadcast does not by itself turn an internal statement of support into premature electoral advertising. The resulting legal test is intended to guide similar cases and does not create general permission for synthetic campaign media.
Why it matters: The ruling sets a practical boundary for Brazil’s strict synthetic-media rules only weeks before the October election.
Brazil’s Congress sends a data-centre tax-incentive regime to Lula
Brazil’s Senate approved PL 278/2026 without substantive amendments, completing congressional passage of the REDATA regime and sending it for presidential assent. The proposal would suspend specified federal taxes on eligible data-centre equipment for five years and expressly covers cloud computing, high-performance computing, AI training and inference. Beneficiaries would have to reserve at least 10% of effective capacity for Brazil, invest 2% of incentivised purchases domestically and meet energy and water-efficiency conditions; the measure is not yet law.
Why it matters: Brazil is linking tax relief for AI compute to domestic capacity, research investment and resource-efficiency obligations.
Ai2 releases BenchMIRT to audit what benchmark questions actually measure
Ai2 released BenchMIRT, a multidimensional item-response method that examines model results prompt by prompt instead of treating each benchmark as a single score. Trained on results from 100 language models across 16 benchmarks and more than 34,000 questions, it recovered safety and general reasoning as distinct dimensions and found that some nominal safety tasks depend heavily on reasoning. Ai2 says a selected 10% of questions often retained the broad capability picture, but the study covers only models released by March 2025 and the dimensions it recovers depend on the chosen benchmark set.
Why it matters: The method can expose mixed signals and redundant questions before leaderboard scores are used to support model-performance or safety claims.
CrowdStrike and Nvidia introduce SafeMind’s paired offensive and defensive agents
CrowdStrike introduced SafeMind, pairing its Red Tempest offensive model and Blue Solano defensive model with agent harnesses that run repeated attack-and-defence exercises in controlled environments. The system uses Nvidia Nemotron components and CrowdStrike threat and incident-response data, and is intended to run inside Falcon while standalone models and harnesses are reserved for trusted access through Project QuiltWorks. CrowdStrike’s detection, remediation and cost comparisons come from internal evaluations and have not been independently validated.
Why it matters: SafeMind moves security automation towards continuous red-team and blue-team agent loops, making access control around offensive capability central to deployment.
Dell reports a $95 billion AI-server backlog and raises its annual forecast
Dell reported $60.9 billion of AI-server orders and $16.4 billion of AI-server revenue in its fiscal second quarter, ending the period with a $95 billion backlog. It raised expected full-year AI-optimised-server revenue from $60 billion to $74 billion and total revenue guidance from $167 billion to $192 billion. The quarterly figures are unaudited, the backlog is not recognised revenue and the forecasts remain company guidance.
Why it matters: Dell’s results provide a large, concrete indicator of demand flowing from AI labs and cloud providers into physical compute infrastructure.
Palo Alto Networks buys Console to add agentic workflows to Cortex
Palo Alto Networks completed its acquisition of Console, an AI-native platform for building natural-language workflows that investigate signals, prioritise work and trigger actions. The company says Console will be integrated into Cortex to support more agentic security operations. Financial terms, the integration timetable and present general availability were not disclosed, and Palo Alto Networks cautions that referenced unreleased features may change or not ship.
Why it matters: The deal shows a major security vendor consolidating agentic operations directly into a core enterprise platform.
Anthropic broadens Claude Fable 5.1 while reserving Mythos 5.1 for vetted access
Anthropic released Claude Fable 5.1 across Claude, its API and major cloud platforms, while limiting the less-restrictive Mythos 5.1 configuration of the same underlying model to vetted cybersecurity and life-science organisations. Fable keeps base prices of $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, while cache reads fall 75% to $0.25 per million tokens. Anthropic reports stronger coding and research performance and fewer safeguard false positives, but those benchmark and safety results are company evaluations.
Why it matters: The release combines broader frontier-model access and lower costs for long-running agents with explicit gating for higher-risk cyber and biology work.
Google begins rolling out Pics, its collaborative AI image editor
Google began rolling out Pics, a Nano Banana-powered app for creating and editing images, to Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers and most Workspace business customers over the coming weeks. It supports object-level transformations, targeted edits, in-image text editing and translation, multiple prompt outputs and shared editing. Integration with Docs and Slides starts today, while Drive support is due in the coming weeks.
Why it matters: Google is moving generative image work into the same collaborative environment that many teams already use for documents and presentations.
Perplexity adds hybrid local-cloud processing to Computer on Mac
Perplexity released Hybrid Compute for its Mac app, allowing a Computer task to begin in the cloud and route sensitive steps or private-file work to a model running locally on Apple silicon. An on-device Privacy Gate is designed to identify and mask personal information before transmission, but the classifier can miss content and should not be treated as a blanket privacy guarantee. Perplexity also released the roughly 600-million-parameter PII classifier under the MIT licence; access to the app feature varies by plan and hardware.
Why it matters: The architecture offers a practical way to combine cloud agents with local processing when workflows involve confidential files or personal data.
Microsoft details a re-engineered AI governance standard for agentic systems
Microsoft published its 2026 Responsible AI Transparency Report and said it has re-engineered its internal Responsible AI Standard for models, platform services and applications. The revised structure separates developer and deployer duties, distinguishes core from scenario-specific requirements, and adds controls for agent identities, permissions, tool access and post-release monitoring. Microsoft also reports expanded threat modelling, evaluation and prompt-injection defences; these are the company’s own governance disclosures.
Why it matters: The framework shows how one major AI provider is adapting oversight from standalone models to agents that can use tools and take multi-step actions.
Waymo begins public robotaxi rides in Denver, San Diego and Tampa
Waymo began inviting members of the public to take fully autonomous rides in Denver, San Diego and Tampa, bringing its commercial service to 14 cities. Access is rolling out steadily rather than opening to everyone at once, and riders join through the Waymo app. The company says initial service areas will expand as more riders and vehicles are added.
Why it matters: Launching three cities together tests whether driverless ride services can scale beyond a small number of established markets.
Flower Labs launches Endeavor 1.0 in a limited enterprise preview
Flower Labs introduced Endeavor 1.0, a general-purpose reasoning and coding model available by request to a limited group of organisations. Customers can use a Flower-managed service or arrange a licensed deployment inside infrastructure they control; the model weights have not been released publicly. Flower reports strong results on GPQA, HumanEval, AIME 2026 and IFEval, but these benchmarks are company claims without independent evaluation evidence.
Why it matters: The preview offers enterprises another route to deploy a high-capability model privately instead of relying only on a provider-hosted API.
Apple files new forensic allegations in its OpenAI trade-secret case
Apple told a California federal court that an initial forensic review of a former engineer’s returned MacBook found a confidential circuit file that it alleges he used after joining OpenAI. Apple asked for permission to supplement its request for expedited discovery and also alleged that related evidence was being destroyed. OpenAI disputes Apple’s broader case, and the judge has not ruled on these new allegations.
Why it matters: The dispute could test how AI hardware teams recruit specialists and protect confidential technical information when employees move between companies.
SB Energy publicly files for a proposed Nasdaq listing
AI-infrastructure and power developer SB Energy publicly filed an S-1 for a proposed initial public offering. It applied to list as SBE on both the Nasdaq Global Select Market and Nasdaq Texas. The filing does not yet set a share count or price range, and the registration statement must become effective before an offering can proceed.
Why it matters: A completed listing would give public investors direct exposure to a company building the power and data-centre capacity behind large AI campuses.
Anthropic details pauses and stronger containment after agent incidents
Anthropic says it paused external cyber evaluations of pre-release models and briefly halted internal tests after July incidents exposed failures in third-party evaluation security. The company says internal and external testing has resumed with real-time blocking, stronger isolation and stricter partner procedures; most higher-risk reinforcement-learning environments have also restarted, while some remain paused for review. A planned independent review with METR has not yet been published.
Why it matters: The disclosure provides concrete examples of a frontier lab delaying evaluation and training work when its containment controls proved inadequate.
California sends a new child-safety chatbot bill to the governor
California lawmakers passed Senate Bill 1119, known as Adam’s Law, by votes of 39–0 in the Senate and 64–4 in the Assembly. The bill would require measures including age assurance, risk assessments, parental controls, independent audits and limits on targeted advertising to children. OpenAI publicly backed the measure and urged Governor Gavin Newsom to sign it; the bill is not yet law.
Correction: An earlier version of this update labelled the vote 1 September; the Legislature passed the bill on 31 August.
Why it matters: If signed, the measure would impose new design and accountability duties on companion-chatbot services used by children in California.
Primary sources first, hype filtered out
Each scheduled run checks official announcements, release notes, research, regulatory records and reputable original reporting. We write independent summaries and distinguish company claims from independently verified facts.
- No unsupported rumours
- No copied article text
- No filler when nothing material changed
- Corrections are labelled, not hidden